LBR 049: Love, Triangle with author Marcie Colleen

On episode 49 of the Lu and Bean Read podcast, we had the honor of interviewing author Marcie Colleen who wrote the new picture book LOVE, TRIANGLE. Marcie was a blast to chat with and obviously is very skilled at working with and writing for children!

This post contains affiliate links, which means that Lu and Bean Read may receive a small commission (at no additional cost to you) on products purchased through external vendors.

About Love, Triangle

From Goodreads: A hilariously clever geometry-inspired picture book from acclaimed author Marcie Colleen and popular illustrator Bob Shea. Ever since they were a dot and a speck, Circle and Square have been best friends…. Then someone new comes along: a cool, exciting Triangle. And three starts to feel like a crowd. . . .With their friendship bent out of shape, can they put it back together again?

A hilariously clever geometry-inspired picture book from acclaimed author Marcie Colleen and popular illustrator Bob Shea. Perfect for fans of Amy Krouse Rosenthal.

Ever since they were a dot and a speck, Circle and Square have been best friends…. Then someone new comes along: a cool, exciting Triangle. And three starts to feel like a crowd. . . .With their friendship bent out of shape, can they put it back together again?

LOVE, TRIANGLE is illustrated by Bob Shea and published by Balzer and Bray in October 2017.

About Marcie Colleeen

Marcie Colleen is a former classroom teacher turned children’s book author. In addition to LOVE, TRIANGLE, Marcie is the author of THE SUPER HAPPY PARTY BEARS chapter book series with Macmillan/Imprint and PENGUINAUT!, illustrated by Emma Yarlett, to be published by Scholastic in 2018.  ​

Marcie is an expert on creating highly acclaimed Teacher’s Guides that align picture books and middle grade novels with the Common Core and state mandated standards. She is the education consultant for Picture Book Month and the curriculum developer for Time Traveler Tours & Tales. She is a frequent presenter at conferences for the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators, as well as a faculty member for Kidlit Writing School. Her educational work in children’s literature has been recognized by School Library Journal, Publisher’s Weekly, and the Children’s Book Council.

She holds a bachelor’s degree in education of English and language arts from Oswego State University and a master’s degree in educational theater from New York University.

Although she will always be a Brooklynite at heart, Marcie lives in San Diego, California with her husband—artist Jonathan Lopes—and their mischievous sock monkey. 

Books we discussed

Love Triangle cover

LBR 048: Finding Good Friends with Author Maria Dismondy

On episode 48 of the Lu and Bean Read podcast we had the pleasure of chatting with author and publisher Maria Dismondy of Cardinal Rule Press. Maria’s new picture book THE FRUIT SALAD FRIEND is all about looking for a diversity of character traits that can help you find great friends. Plus, we chatted about all our favorite kids books about making good friends. Once you check out everything we talked about on this episode, be sure to visit our 2015 post about books on how to make friends.

This post contains affiliate links, which means that Lu and Bean Read may receive a small commission (at no additional cost to you) on products purchased through external vendors. We received a review copy of THE FRUIT SALAD FRIEND to produce this podcast and post.

About The Fruit Salad Friend

Chloe loves going to school, but lately, something is different. Chloe has all the ingredients of a great friend—kindness, empathy, compassion, and more. Chloe wonders, “What do you do when friends don’t treat you with kindness?”

THE FRUIT SALAD FRIEND shows how this brave girl navigates the trials and tribulations that pop up on her way to discovering the recipe for lasting friendship.

About Maria Dismondy

Born and raised in a suburb of Detroit, Michigan, Maria grew up chilling on red shag carpet watching the Smurfs and playing with Cabbage Patch Dolls. Many years later, she went on to graduate from Michigan State University and married her high school sweetheart. Together, they are raising their three children on a little lake in the heart of Southeast Michigan.

Maria is the author of many books and the founder of Cardinal Rule Press. People often ask how Maria got started in the book business. It’s not a simple answer so she now offers one-on-one publishing consultations for people interested in making their own writing careers come to life.

Books we discussed

Thanks for listening!

Cover of the Fruit Salad Friend Covers of kids books about making friends

LBR 047: Finding the Best Biracial Kids Books with Guest Bethany Edwards

On episode 47 of the Lu and Bean Read podcast we talked with Bethany Edwards, the creator of the Biracial Bookworms blog. Bethany shared about her own children’s writing, the resources she consults with to find the best biracial books for her family, and how she keeps her daughter reading and writing as much as possible.

This post contains affiliate links, which means that Lu and Bean Read may receive a small commission (at no additional cost to you) on products purchased through external vendors.

About Bethany Edwards

Bethany is an educator and a global traveler whose goal is to inspire and encourage families to read. At her blog Biracial Bookworms, she provides connections high quality and diverse resources and literature. Her goal is to empower and arm families and teachers with the tools to give children the world through reading, traveling, and learning languages!

Resources for families seeking more diverse books

Bethany recommends checking out these resources for families seeking more connections to diverse books.

Biracial Bookworms

Multiracial Media

Embrace Race

The Parent Voice

Books we discussed

Thanks for listening!

Best biracial kids books Best Biracial Kids Books

Follow

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This